No More Chameleon Eggs

The last chameleon egg went bad over the weekend.

I’m kind of disappointed, and as horrible as it is, I’m a little relieved.

Every since we found out the eggs were good, I’ve worried about having to find food small enough for the chameleons if they were born in the winter, and then when I found out that I was having a baby, I was worried that the chameleons would hatch right around the time the baby was born, and that would definitely result in Jeff spending more time away from the baby than he wanted too.

At the same time, I know that the eggs contributed to Skye’s early demise, and it makes me sad that she didn’t have any offspring to show for it.

Even though we didn’t breed them, Skye snuck over into Sully’s cage when she was ready, and even though we tried to limit her food so that she wouldn’t have eggs, it didn’t work.

I am glad that we had the experience of having chameleons, and I do miss them, but at the same time it’s nice not to have to feed them, and spray them daily – that really did take up a lot of time.

I was also really scared to leave them for more than a weekend, and in fact, we only left them for longer than that for once their entire lives – and being scared to leave them alone was one of the main reasons we never left them for longer than that, even though before we got Skye and Sully we made sure that we knew someone who would watch them for us if we went on vacation.

I don’t know if we’ll ever get chameleons again – there are so many other things that I want to try, and since it isn’t recommended to have reptiles around infants and toddlers, I don’t think we’ll get any more until the baby is older.

Who knows.

This entry was posted in nosy be panther chameleon eggs, Nosy Be Panther Chameleons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment