Eww…flies in the leopard gecko cage

I was cleaning out our leopard gecko’s cage this weekend and I found 3 wierd little dead flies in the cage.
I was freaking out – how did the flies get in the cage, and what were they doing in there?

Were we so messy that the flies were making a home in the reptile room?

Would they hurt Tiger, the snakes, or the chameleons?

I didn’t have a clue.

Finally after I cleaned up the cage I noticed the bottle of Zoo Med’s Leopard Gecko Food, and decided to try to feed Tiger some of it, since we hadn’t used it before.

I opened the bottle and was surprised to see that there wasn’t a seal – and then I looked inside, and what did I see?

Weird little dead flies!

Jeff had tried to feed them to Tiger, and hadn’t told me.

I was very relieved that Tiger’s cage wasn’t being infested with flies, but I was also disappointed to see that Tiger hadn’t eaten any of them.

I guess it’s crickets, mealworms, and roaches for him from now on.

This entry was posted in Leopard Gecko and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Eww…flies in the leopard gecko cage

  1. I’ve always found that my geckos won’t eat any of that canned stuff anyways. One of my first leos went over to one that I put in his bowl, looked really excited, and then kicked it with his paw. When it didn’t move, he gave me this look like “what the heck is this?”

Leave a comment